CDL-Course.com Celebrating our 27th year in CDL
Learner Permit Training Programs
CDL Practice Test Customer Reviews free cdl practice test 4.95/5 score for 66 reviews
REMINDER!
Please bookmark cdl-course.com
Add to Favorites

CDL Hours of Service FMCSA Regulations

CDL "Hours of Service" (HOS) FMCSA rules for both truck driver and for bus drivers.

Do you already know what you need? You may choose individual Modules or Bundles. If your individual selections cost more than $39.95 - you will automatically be put into the SUPER BUNDLE . . . it includes EVERYTHING! If you need help choosing the right product for your needs, use the free Selector Tool. You never have to pay more than $39.95.

Virginia CDL Test Selector Tool
Virginia
CDL Test Selector Tool
(Use only for a new CDL)
Not sure which VA CDL Tests you need to pass? Use this tool to determine what Class of CDL and which CDL Endorsements you require.

CDL Hours of Service (FMCSA) Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Regulations

Who Must Comply with (FMCSA) Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Rules?

Most drivers must follow the HOS Regulations if they drive a commercial motor vehicle, or CMV.

In general, a CMV is a vehicle that is used as part of a business and is involved in interstate commerce and fits any of these descriptions:
  • Weighs 10,001 pounds or more
  • Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more
  • Is designed or used to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver) not for compensation
  • Is designed or used to transport 9 or more passengers (including the driver) for compensation
  • Is transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placards

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) Hours of Service Final Rule for Truck Drivers

The Hours of Service of Drivers Final Rule was published in the Federal Register on December 27, 2011. The effective date of the Final Rule was February 27, 2012, and the compliance date of remaining provisions was July 1, 2013.

NOTICE: The Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act of 2015 was enacted on December 16, 2014, suspending enforcement of requirements for use of the 34-hour restart. For more information see FMCSA's Federal Register notice: www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/hours-service/hours-service-drivers

Summary of the FMCSA Hours of Service Regulations . . .

Drivers must take a 30-minute break when they have driven for a period of 8 cumulative hours without at least a 30-minute interruption. The break may be satisfied by any non-driving period of 30 consecutive minutes (i.e., on-duty not driving, off-duty, sleeper berth, or any combination of these taken consecutively).

PROPERTY-CARRYING DRIVERS

  • 11-Hour Driving Limit May drive a maximum of 11 hours after 10 consecutive hours off duty.
  • 14-Hour Limit May not drive beyond the 14th consecutive hour after coming on duty, following 10 consecutive hours off duty. Off-duty time does not extend the 14-hour period.
  • Rest Breaks May drive only if 8 hours or less have passed since end of driver's last off-duty or sleeper berth period of at least 30 minutes. Does not apply to drivers using either of the short-haul exceptions in 395.1(e). [49 CFR 397.5 mandatory "in attendance" time may be included in break if no other duties performed]
  • 60/70-Hour Limit May not drive after 60/70 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days. A driver may restart a 7/8 consecutive day period after taking 34 or more consecutive hours off duty.
  • Sleeper Berth Provision Drivers using the sleeper berth provision must take at least 8 consecutive hours in the sleeper berth, plus a separate 2 consecutive hours either in the sleeper berth, off duty, or any combination of the two.

PASSENGER-CARRYING DRIVERS

  • 10-Hour Driving Limit May drive a maximum of 10 hours after 8 consecutive hours off duty.
  • 15-Hour Limit May not drive after having been on duty for 15 hours, following 8 consecutive hours off duty. Off-duty time is not included in the 15-hour period.
  • 60/70-Hour Limit May not drive after 60/70 hours on duty in 7/8 consecutive days.
  • Sleeper Berth Provision Drivers using a sleeper berth must take at least 8 hours in the sleeper berth, and may split the sleeper berth time into two periods provided neither is less than 2 hours.
Free CDL Practice Test "Well worth the price. Saved me a lot of time. I passed all of my tests the first time. I will recommend it to others." - C.M., Macon, GA
Free CDL Practice Test "Your CDL program was CHEAP compared to what it includes. I passed all my CDL tests the first time. I'm sending my friends your way. Thank you, thank you, thank you!" - M.K., Jacksonville, FL
Free CDL Practice Test "A little thank you note. I normally hate studying for tests. Not this time! It was interesting, straight forward and had TONS of different study and practice options. Keep up the good work!" - P.A., Bloomington, MN
Free CDL Practice Test "I needed to get my CDL permit before starting my skills training the following week. I started using it two minutes after my purchase. Got my CDL permit with time to spare. I highly recommend it." - P.M., Rochester, NY
View More Testimonials